Halal vs. Kosher

The Koran dictates religious dietary practice for observant Muslims.  Their religious diet has differences with kosher though, as the halal diet (meaning ‘fit’ or ‘proper’, just as in Judaism) is less complex.  It mainly centers around meat, but it also contains a strict ban against alcohol.

Our Grocery Search is truly unique, featuring a database of well over 4,000 products NOT Kosher-Certified. It just may be what you were looking for!

Users are able to save & modify their unique Grocery Lists for efficient shopping. How rad is that! No wonder we have 4.8 star reviews.

Search Groceries Now!


Regarding meat, the halal process requires the name of God to be invoked prior to each and every animal slaughter.  Whereas, within Judaic law the shochet (observant Jew or rabbi trained for this ritualistic procedure) will only make one religious blessing at the very beginning of his duty.  Furthermore, there are slight differences in the technique used in this ritual.  Lastly, there are differences in which animals are considered “clean”, and that is a large part of the religious history that has continued through the centuries.  Mammals that don’t have split hooves and chew their cud are just one of many exceptions to the Judaic list of clean animals.  

We have a few PETA promotions on this site mainly because they have exposed kosher-slaughter videos online, and not to promote vegetarian diet:

PETA.org

Although observant Muslims would likely prefer halal meat to kosher, it has been heard that they would prefer kosher meat to non-kosher.  This might just be good marketing for the kosher industry, or it may hold some truth.  We invite you to ask someone following the religion of Islam to find out the whole story.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *